Books Reviewed by Satya Nadella

Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life: Life-Changing Tools for Healthy Relationships (Nonviolent Communication Guides)

- September 1, 2015

The latest edition of the communication guide that has sold more than 1,000,000 copies An enlightening look at how peaceful communication can create compassionate connections with family, friends, and other acquaintances, this international bestseller uses stories, examples, and sample dialogues ... Read More

The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers

- March 4, 2014

Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup—practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business school doesn’t cover, based on his popular ben’s blog. Wh... Read More

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

- February 28, 2017

Based on years of embedded fieldwork and painstakingly gathered data, this masterful book transforms our understanding of extreme poverty and economic exploitation while providing fresh ideas for solving a devastating, uniquely American problem. Based on years of embedded fieldwork and painstaki... Read More

Deep Learning (Adaptive Computation and Machine Learning series)

- November 18, 2016

An introduction to a broad range of topics in deep learning, covering mathematical and conceptual background, deep learning techniques used in industry, and research perspectives. “Written by three experts in the field, Deep Learning is the only comprehensive book on the subject.” —Elon Musk, coc... Read More

Leonardo da Vinci

- October 17, 2017

"He was history's most creative genius. What secrets can he teach us? The [bestselling biographer] brings Leonardo da Vinci to life in this exciting new biography. Drawing on thousands of pages from Leonardo's astonishing notebooks and new discoveries about his life and work, Walter Isaacson weav... Read More

Reviewed by

The Geography of Thought: How Asians and Westerners Think Differently...and Why

- April 5, 2004

An award-winning professor of psychology examines the divergent ways in which eastern and western cultures view the world, offering suggestions about how today's interdependent global cultures may be bridged. Reprint. 15,000 first printing. An award-winning professor of psychology examines the d... Read More

Reviewed by

Capital in the Twenty First Century

The main driver of inequality--returns on capital that exceed the rate of economic growth--is again threatening to generate extreme discontent and undermine democratic values. Thomas Piketty's findings in this ambitious, original, rigorous work will transform debate and set the agenda for the nex... Read More

Reviewed by

An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth: What Going to Space Taught Me About Ingenuity, Determination, and Being Prepared for Anything

- April 14, 2015

"Hadfield is a genius, a man of science and technology and no first-timer to the universe."-New York Post Chris Hadfield has spent decades training as an astronaut and has logged nearly 4000 hours in space. During this time he has broken into a Space Station with a Swiss army knife, disposed of a... Read More

Reviewed by

Mindset: How You Can Fulfill Your Potential

After more than 20 years of study on how an individual's mindset motivates success, Dweck shows how these mindsets profoundly shape achievements and relationships, and how a mindset can be applied to achieve success. After more than 20 years of study on how an individual's mindset motivates ... Read More

The Great Transformation: The Political and Economic Origins of Our Time

- March 28, 2001

In this classic work of economic history and social theory, Karl Polanyi analyzes the economic and social changes brought about by the "great transformation" of the Industrial Revolution. His analysis explains not only the deficiencies of the self-regulating market, but the potentially dire socia... Read More

The Organized Mind: Thinking Straight in the Age of Information Overload

- September 1, 2015

New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Daniel J. Levitin shifts his keen insights from your brain on music to your brain in a sea of details. The information age is drowning us with an unprecedented deluge of data. At the same time, we’re expected to make more—and faster—decisions a... Read More

Reviewed by

Hit Refresh: The Quest to Rediscover Microsoft's Soul and Imagine a Better Future for Everyone

- September 26, 2017

As told by Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella, Hit Refresh is the story of corporate change and reinvention as well as the story of Nadella’s personal journey, one that is taking place today inside a storied technology company, and one that is coming in all of our lives as intelligent machines become mo... Read More

Reviewed by

Dawn of the New Everything: Encounters with Reality and Virtual Reality

- November 6, 2018

Named one of the best books of 2017 by The Economist, The Wall Street Journal, & Vox The father of virtual reality explains its dazzling possibilities by reflecting on his own lifelong relationship with technology Bridging the gap between tech mania and the experience of being inside the human bo... Read More

Reviewed by

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

- June 4, 2013

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany—from the author of Facing the Mountain. Soon to be a major motion picture directed by George Clooney For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about bea... Read More

Reviewed by

The Rise and Fall of American Growth: The U.S. Standard of Living since the Civil War (The Princeton Economic History of the Western World, 70)

- August 29, 2017

How America's high standard of living came to be and why future growth is under threat In the century after the Civil War, an economic revolution improved the American standard of living in ways previously unimaginable. Electric lighting, indoor plumbing, motor vehicles, air travel, and televisio... Read More

Reviewed by

The Great Convergence: Information Technology and the New Globalization

- November 14, 2016

From 1820 to 1990 the share of world income going to today’s wealthy nations soared from 20% to 70%. That share has recently plummeted. Richard Baldwin shows how the combination of high tech with low wages propelled industrialization in developing nations, deindustrialization in developed nations... Read More

Reviewed by

The End of Absence: Reclaiming What We've Lost in a World of Constant Connection

- August 7, 2014

Citing the current generation's unique experience of life on and without the Internet, a chronicle of the modern world's massive shift to an information-driven, online existence evaluates the connected world's potentially costly absence of silence, contemplation and solitude. Citing the current ... Read More

Reviewed by

Zero to One: Notes on Start Ups, or How to Build the Future

WHAT VALUABLE COMPANY IS NOBODY BUILDING? The next Bill Gates will not build an operating system. The next Larry Page or Sergey Brin wonâe(tm)t make a search engine. If you are copying these guys, you arenâe(tm)t learning from them. Itâe(tm)s easier to copy a model than to make something new: doi... Read More