Books Reviewed by Ryan Holiday

The 48 Laws of Power

- September 1, 2000

Amoral, cunning, ruthless, and instructive, this multi-million-copy New York Times bestseller is the definitive manual for anyone interested in gaining, observing, or defending against ultimate control – from the author of The Laws of Human Nature. In the book that People magazine proclaimed “beg... Read More

The Art Of War

- November 1, 2007

The Art of War is composed of only about 6,000 Chinese characters, it is considered by many to be the greatest book on strategy and strategic thinking ever written. . 350F PROFESSIONAL READING LIST. Twenty-Five Hundred years ago, Sun Tzu wrote this classic book of military strategy based on Chin... Read More

Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike

- April 26, 2016

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands. In 1962, fresh out of business sch... Read More

The Forgotten 500: The Untold Story of the Men Who Risked All for the Greatest Rescue Mission of World War II

- September 2, 2008

The astonishing, never before told story of the greatest rescue mission of World War II—when the OSS set out to recover more than 500 airmen trapped behind enemy lines in Yugoslavia... During a bombing campaign over Romanian oil fields, hundreds of American airmen were shot down in Nazi-occupied ... Read More

Mastery

- October 29, 2013

From the bestselling author of The 48 Laws of Power and The Laws of Human Nature, a vital work revealing that the secret to mastery is already within you. Each one of us has within us the potential to be a Master. Learn the secrets of the field you have chosen, submit to a rigorous apprenticeship... Read More

Benjamin Franklin: An American Life

- June 1, 2004

Presents a portrait of Benjamin Franklin as a scientist, inventor, diplomat, writer, business strategist, and statesman while tracing his life as one of America's Founding Fathers. Presents a portrait of Benjamin Franklin as a scientist, inventor, diplomat, writer, business strategist, and state... Read More

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar

- July 10, 2012

Collects top-selected postings on life and relationships from The Rumpus' popular "Dear Sugar" online column, sharing recommendations on everything from infidelity and grief to marital boredom and financial hardships. Original. 40,000 first printing. Collects top-selected postings on life and re... Read More

The Black Swan: Second Edition: The Impact of the Highly Improbable: With a new section: "On Robustness and Fragility" (Incerto)

- May 11, 2010

The most influential book of the past seventy-five years: a groundbreaking exploration of everything we know about what we don’t know, now with a new section called “On Robustness and Fragility.” A black swan is a highly improbable event with three principal characteristics: It is unpredictable; ... Read More

The River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey

- October 10, 2006

Chronicles the 1914 expedition of Theodore Roosevelt into the unexplored heart of the Amazon basin to explore and map the region surrounding a tributary called the River of Doubt, detailing the perilous conditions they faced. Chronicles the 1914 expedition of Theodore Roosevelt into the unexplor... Read More

The Power Broker: Robert Moses and the Fall of New York

- July 12, 1975

This is first and foremost a brilliant multidimensional portrait of a man-an extraordinary man who, denied power within the normal framework of the democratic process, stepped outside that framework to grasp power sufficient to shape a great city and hold sway over the very texture of millions of... Read More

Titan: The Life of John D. Rockefeller, Sr.

- March 30, 2004

The author draws on Rockefeller's own papers to provide a biography of the legendary oilman, capitalist, and philanthropist The author draws on Rockefeller's own papers to provide a biography of the legendary oilman, capitalist, and philanthropist Read More

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

- May 24, 2005

New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Ri... Read More

Washington: A Life

- October 5, 2010

A comprehensive account of the life of George Washington negates the stereotype of a stolid, unemotional man and instead reveals a dashing, passionate man of fiery opinions and many moods who fiercely guarded his private life. A comprehensive account of the life of George Washington negates the ... Read More

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

- February 24, 2009

Now available: Nudge: The Final Edition The original edition of the multimillion-copy New York Times bestseller by the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Charles Duhigg’s... Read More

The Fish That Ate the Whale: The Life and Times of America's Banana King

- June 4, 2013

Named a Best Book of the Year by the San Francisco Chronicle and The Times-Picayune The fascinating untold tale of Samuel Zemurray, the self-made banana mogul who went from penniless roadside banana peddler to kingmaker and capitalist revolutionary The fascinating, untold tale of Samuel Zemurray,... Read More

Boyd: The Fighter Pilot Who Changed the Art of War

- May 10, 2004

John Boyd may be the most remarkable unsung hero in all of American military history. Some remember him as the greatest U.S. fighter pilot ever -- the man who, in simulated air-to-air combat, defeated every challenger in less than forty seconds. Some recall him as the father of our country's most... Read More

Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder (Incerto)

- November 27, 2012

Antifragile is a standalone book in Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s landmark Incerto series, an investigation of opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision-making in a world we don’t understand. The other books in the series are Fooled by Randomness, The Black Swan, Skin in ... Read More

Strategy: Second Revised Edition

- March 30, 1991

"The most important book by one of the outstanding military authorities of our time."—Library Journal Strategy is a seminal work of military history and theory, and a perfect companion to Sun-tzu’s The Art of War and Carl von Clauswitz’s On War. This is the classic book on war as we know it. Duri... Read More

The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival (Vintage Departures)

- May 3, 2011

Documents the efforts of a tiger conservation leader who was forced to hunt a man-eating tiger through the brutal Siberian winter, an effort that familiarized him with the creature's history, motives and unique method of attack. Documents the efforts of a tiger conservation leader who was forced... Read More

Tough Jews : Fathers, Sons, and Gangster Dreams

- April 20, 1999

Examines the Jewish underworld in New York City, tracing its roots to working class families in the early 1900s Examines the Jewish underworld in New York City, tracing its roots to working class families in the early 1900s Read More

Fooled by Randomness: The Hidden Role of Chance in Life and in the Markets (Incerto)

- October 14, 2008

Fooled by Randomness is a standalone book in Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s landmark Incerto series, an investigation of opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision-making in a world we don’t understand. The other books in the series are The Black Swan, Antifragile, Skin in ... Read More

The Moral Animal: Why We Are, the Way We Are: The New Science of Evolutionary Psychology

- August 29, 1995

A study on evolutionary psychology implements Darwinian theory that identifies the inherent nature of such areas as human sexuality, sibling rivalry, self-esteem, friendship, and more. Reprint. 35,000 first printing. What are the biological roots of self-deception? These are among the questions ... Read More

Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success

- May 21, 2013

The head coach of the Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Lakers traces the life experiences and philosophies that inspired his championship-winning techniques, revealing how he forged successful teams by combining talents and promoting trust. The head coach of the Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Lakers... Read More

Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage: Stories

- October 8, 2002

A collection of short fiction explores the complexities of human relationships and emotions in stories about a housekeeper entering old-maidhood whose life is transformed by a practical joke and a lifelong philanderer who finds the tables turned. A collection of short fiction explores the comple... Read More

Totto-Chan: The Little Girl at the Window

- March 23, 2012

This engaging series of childhood recollections tells about an ideal school in Tokyo during World War II that combined learning with fun, freedom, and love. This unusual school had old railroad cars for classrooms, and it was run by an extraordinary man-its founder and headmaster, Sosaku Kobayash... Read More

More Product Reviewed by Ryan Holiday