Books Reviewed by Mark Zuckerberg

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

- May 15, 2018

Official U.S. edition with full color illustrations throughout. #1 New York Times Bestseller The Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg, now available as a beautifully packaged paperback From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanit... Read More

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

- April 8, 2014

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST... Read More

The Structure of Scientific Revolutions: 50th Anniversary Edition

- April 30, 2012

A good book may have the power to change the way we see the world, but a great book actually becomes part of our daily consciousness, pervading our thinking to the point that we take it for granted, and we forget how provocative and challenging its ideas once were—and still are. The Structure of ... Read More

The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves (P.S.)

- June 7, 2011

For two hundred years the pessimists have dominated public discourse, insisting that things will soon be getting much worse. But in fact, life is getting better—and at an accelerating rate. Food availability, income, and life span are up; disease, child mortality, and violence are down all across... Read More

Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty

- September 17, 2013

An award-winning professor of economics at MIT and a Harvard University political scientist and economist evaluate the reasons that some nations are poor while others succeed, outlining provocative perspectives that support theories about the importance of institutions. Reprint. An award-winning... Read More

The Idea Factory: Bell Labs and the Great Age of American Innovation

- February 26, 2013

The definitive history of America’s greatest incubator of innovation and the birthplace of some of the 20th century’s most influential technologies “Filled with colorful characters and inspiring lessons . . . The Idea Factory explores one of the most critical issues of our time: What causes innov... Read More

The Muqaddimah: An Introduction to History - Abridged Edition (Princeton Classics, 13)

- April 27, 2015

This prolegomenon was written in the 14th century by the Arab scholar Ibn Khaldūn, & laid the intellectual foundations for philosophy of history, sociology, ethnography & economics. This translation was first published in 1958 in three volumes. This prolegomenon was written in the 14th century b... Read More

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

- January 16, 2012

Argues that the War on Drugs and policies that deny convicted felons equal access to employment, housing, education and public benefits create a permanent under-caste based largely on race. Reprint. 12,500 first printing. Argues that the War on Drugs and policies that deny convicted felons equal... Read More

Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters

- May 30, 2006

The genome's been mapped. But what does it mean? Arguably the most significant scientific discovery of the new century, the mapping of the twenty-three pairs of chromosomes that make up the human genome raises almost as many questions as it answers. Questions that will profoundly impact the way w... Read More

World Order

- September 9, 2014

The former Secretary of State and national security adviser provides a deep meditation on the roots of international harmony and global disorder. The former Secretary of State and national security adviser provides a deep meditation on the roots of international harmony and global disorder. Read More

Reviewed by

Energy: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides)

- February 14, 2017

Vaclav Smil describes the concept of energy, while exploring a range of topics including everything from the inner workings of the human body to the race for more efficient and environmentally friendly fossil fuels. Whether you're looking for dinner table conversation or to further your own ... Read More

Reviewed by

The Beginning of Infinity: Explanations That Transform the World

- July 21, 2011

An award-winning pioneer in the field of quantum computation explores the nature and progress of knowledge in the universe, arguing that we are subject to the laws of physics but unlimited by what can be understood, controlled and achieved. By the author of The Fabric of Reality. 25,000 first pri... Read More

Dealing with China: An Insider Unmasks the New Economic Superpower

- April 12, 2016

Hank Paulson has dealt with China unlike any other foreigner. As head of Goldman Sachs, Paulson had a pivotal role in opening up China to private enterprise. Then, as Treasury secretary, he created the Strategic Economic Dialogue with what is now the world's second-largest economy. He negotiated ... Read More

Reviewed by

The Varieties of Religious Experience: A Study in Human Nature

- May 8, 2019

William James (January 11, 1842 - August 27, 1910) was an American philosopher and psychologist, and the first educator to offer a psychology course in the United States. James was a leading thinker of the late nineteenth century, one of the most influential U.S. philosophers, and has been labell... Read More

Reviewed by

On Immunity: An Inoculation

- September 30, 2014

A New York Times Best Seller A National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist A New York Times Book Review Top 10 Book of the Year A Facebook "Year of Books" Selection One of the Best Books of the Year * National Book Critics Circle Award finalist * The New York Times Book Review (Top 10) * Entertai... Read More

Reviewed by

Gang Leader for a Day: A Rogue Sociologist Takes to the Streets

- January 10, 2008

Recounts the story of a young sociologist whose infiltration of a Chicago drug gang was originally introduced in the work "Freakonomics," describing the author's idealism, his friendship with gang leader JT, and his witness to the organization's crack-sel Recounts the story of a young sociologis... Read More

Reviewed by

Rational Ritual: Culture, Coordination, and Common Knowledge

- April 28, 2013

Why do Internet, financial service, and beer commercials dominate Super Bowl advertising? How do political ceremonies establish authority? Why does repetition characterize anthems and ritual speech? Why were circular forms favored for public festivals during the French Revolution? This book answe... Read More

Reviewed by

Better Angels of Our Nature: The Decline of Violence in History and Its Causes

- October 1, 2011

Faced with the ceaseless stream of news about war, crime, and terrorism, one could easily think this is the most violent age ever seen. Yet as bestselling author Pinker shows in this startling and engaging new work, just the opposite is true: violence has been diminishing for millennia and this m... Read More

Orwell's Revenge: The 1984 Palimpsest

- June 30, 2015

In alternating chapters of fiction and nonfiction, Huber turns the computer against Orwell's words, reimagining Orwell's 1984 from the computer's point of view, interpolating Huger's own explanations and arguments. In alternating chapters of fiction and nonfiction, Huber turns the computer again... Read More

Reviewed by

The Three-Body Problem (Remembrance of Earth's Past, 1)

- July 2, 2019

The Three-Body Problem is the first chance for English-speaking readers to experience this multiple award winning phenomenon from China's most beloved science fiction author, Liu Cixin.Set against the backdrop of China's Cultural Revolution, a secret military project sends signals into space to e... Read More

The Player of Games

- February 1, 1989

Gurgeh, a champion game player, travels a hundred thousand light years to the Empire of Azad, where the winner of their complex game becomes emperor. Gurgeh, a champion game player, travels a hundred thousand light years to the Empire of Azad, where the winner of their complex game becomes emperor. Read More