Books Reviewed by Ken Norton

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

- January 29, 2013

Demonstrates how introverted people are misunderstood and undervalued in modern culture, charting the rise of extrovert ideology while sharing anecdotal examples of how to use introvert talents to adapt to various situations. Demonstrates how introverted people are misunderstood and undervalued ... Read More

Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In

- May 3, 2011

This is the second, greatly expanded edition of one of the world's most successful books on negotiation. 'Getting to Yes' offers powerful principles to guide readers to success in the art of negotiation. This is the second, greatly expanded edition of one of the world's most successful books... Read More

The Design of Everyday Things: Revised and Expanded Edition

- November 5, 2013

Even the smartest among us can feel inept as we fail to figure out which light switch or oven burner to turn on, or whether to push, pull, or slide a door. The fault, argues this ingenious—even liberating—book, lies not in ourselves, but in product design that ignores the needs of users and the p... Read More

Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity

- March 17, 2015

The book Lifehack calls "The Bible of business and personal productivity." "A completely revised and updated edition of the blockbuster bestseller from 'the personal productivity guru'"—Fast Company Since it was first published almost fifteen years ago, David Allen’s Getting Things Done has becom... Read More

Inspired: How to Create Tech Products Customers Love (Silicon Valley Product Group)

- December 4, 2017

How do todays most successful tech companiesAmazon, Google, Facebook, Netflix, Tesladesign, develop, and deploy the products that have earned the love of literally billions of people around the world? Perhaps surprisingly, they do it very differently than most tech companies. In INSPIRED, technol... Read More

The Lean Startup: How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses

- September 13, 2011

Outlines a revisionist approach to management while arguing against common perceptions about the inevitability of startup failures, explaining the importance of providing genuinely needed products and services as well as organizing a business that can adapt to continuous customer feedback. Outli... Read More

The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers

- March 4, 2014

Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup—practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business school doesn’t cover, based on his popular ben’s blog. Wh... Read More

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

- April 8, 2014

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST... Read More

Sprint: How to Solve Big Problems and Test New Ideas in Just Five Days

- March 8, 2016

Entrepreneurs and leaders face big questions every day: What's the most important place to focus your effort, and how do you start? What will your idea look like in real life? How many meetings and discussions does it take before you can be sure you have the right solution? Now there's a surefire... Read More

High Output Management

- August 29, 1995

The president of Silicon Valley's Intel Corporation sets forth the three basic ideas of his management philosophy and details numerous specific techniques to increase productivity in the manager's work and that of his colleagues and subordinates The president of Silicon Valley's Intel Corpor... Read More

Don't Make Me Think, Revisited: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (3rd Edition) (Voices That Matter)

- December 24, 2013

Offers observations and solutions to fundamental Web design problems, as well as a new chapter about mobile Web design. Offers observations and solutions to fundamental Web design problems, as well as a new chapter about mobile Web design. Read More

Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography

- October 24, 2011

Draws on more than forty interviews with Steve Jobs, as well as interviews with family members, friends, competitors, and colleagues to offer a look at the co-founder and leading creative force behind the Apple computer company. Draws on more than forty interviews with Steve Jobs, as well as int... Read More

How to Lie with Statistics

- October 17, 1993

Over Half a Million Copies Sold--an Honest-to-Goodness Bestseller Darrell Huff runs the gamut of every popularly used type of statistic, probes such things as the sample study, the tabulation method, the interview technique, or the way the results are derived from the figures, and points up the c... Read More

Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products

- November 4, 2014

Revised and Updated, Featuring a New Case Study How do successful companies create products people can’t put down? Why do some products capture widespread attention while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of sheer habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hoo... Read More

The Lean Product Playbook: How to Innovate with Minimum Viable Products and Rapid Customer Feedback

- June 2, 2015

The missing manual on how to apply Lean Startup to build products that customers love The Lean Product Playbook is a practical guide to building products that customers love. Whether you work at a startup or a large, established company, we all know that building great products is hard. Most new ... Read More

Competing Against Luck: The Story of Innovation and Customer Choice

- October 4, 2016

This book carefully lays down the authors’ provocative framework, providing a comprehensive explanation of the theory, why it’s predictive, and, most important, how to use it to improve innovation in the real world. Read More

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

- July 6, 2010

"Long live the King" hailed Entertainment Weekly upon publication of Stephen King’s On Writing. Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer’s craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every w... Read More

Work Rules

Google receives over 1,500,000 unique applications for jobs every year. This book shows you why. * How to learn from your best employees - and your worst * Why you should only hire people who are smarter than you are * Take away managers' powers over employees * And why not to trust your gut inst... Read More

Reviewed by

The Innovator's Solution: Creating and Sustainability Successful Growth

- November 1, 2013

An innovation classic. From Steve Jobs to Jeff Bezos, Clay Christensen’s work continues to underpin today’s most innovative leaders and organizations. A seminal work on disruption—for everyone confronting the growth paradox. For readers of the bestselling The Innovator’s Dilemma—and beyond—this d... Read More

Yes to the Mess: Surprising Leadership Lessons from Jazz

- August 7, 2012

Proposes an organizational leadership and collaboration model based on the improvisational natures of such jazz musicians as Miles Davis and Sonny Rollins, discussing inventive approaches companies can take to deal with change. Proposes an organizational leadership and collaboration model based ... Read More

Reviewed by

The Halo Effect: . . . and the Eight Other Business Delusions That Deceive Managers

- June 17, 2014

Controversial and iconoclastic, a veteran corporate manager and business school professor exposes the dangerous myths, fantasies, and delusions that pervade much of the business world today. Controversial and iconoclastic, a veteran corporate manager and business school professor exposes the dan... Read More

Inside the Tornado: Strategies for Developing, Leveraging, and Surviving Hypergrowth Markets (Collins Business Essentials)

- December 14, 2004

In this, the second of Geoff Moore's classic three-part marketing series, Moore provides highly useful guidelines for moving products beyond early adopters and into the lucrative mainstream market. Updated for the HarperBusiness Essentials series with a new author's note. Once a product "crosses ... Read More

More Product Reviewed by Ken Norton