Books Reviewed by Chris

Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life: Life-Changing Tools for Healthy Relationships (Nonviolent Communication Guides)

- September 1, 2015

The latest edition of the communication guide that has sold more than 1,000,000 copies An enlightening look at how peaceful communication can create compassionate connections with family, friends, and other acquaintances, this international bestseller uses stories, examples, and sample dialogues ... Read More

Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative

- February 28, 2012

You don’t need to be a genius, you just need to be yourself. That’s the message from Austin Kleon, a young writer and artist who knows that creativity is everywhere, creativity is for everyone. A manifesto for the digital age, Steal Like an Artist is a guide whose positive message, graphic look a... Read More

The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers

- March 4, 2014

Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup—practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business school doesn’t cover, based on his popular ben’s blog. Wh... Read More

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

- April 8, 2014

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST... Read More

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action

- October 29, 2009

The inspirational bestseller that ignited a movement and asked us to find our WHY Discover the book that is captivating millions on TikTok and that served as the basis for one of the most popular TED Talks of all time—with more than 56 million views and counting. Over a decade ago, Simon Sinek st... Read More

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

- February 24, 2009

Now available: Nudge: The Final Edition The original edition of the multimillion-copy New York Times bestseller by the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Charles Duhigg’s... Read More

Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

- February 21, 2017

Yuval Noah Harari, author of the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, returns with an equally original, compelling, and provocative book, turning his focus toward humanity’s future, and our quest to upgrade humans into gods. Over the past century hu... Read More

Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder (Incerto)

- November 27, 2012

Antifragile is a standalone book in Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s landmark Incerto series, an investigation of opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision-making in a world we don’t understand. The other books in the series are Fooled by Randomness, The Black Swan, Skin in ... Read More

The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done

- January 24, 2017

A handsome, commemorative edition of Peter F. Drucker’s timeless classic work on leadership and management, with a foreword by Jim Collins. What makes an effective executive? For decades, Peter F. Drucker was widely regarded as "the dean of this country’s business and management philosophers" (Wa... Read More

The Second Machine Age: Work, Progress, and Prosperity in a Time of Brilliant Technologies

- January 20, 2014

A pair of technology experts describe how humans will have to keep pace with machines in order to become prosperous in the future and identify strategies and policies for business and individuals to use to combine digital processing power with human ingenuity. A pair of technology experts descri... Read More

Zero to One: Notes on Start Ups, or How to Build the Future

WHAT VALUABLE COMPANY IS NOBODY BUILDING? The next Bill Gates will not build an operating system. The next Larry Page or Sergey Brin wonâe(tm)t make a search engine. If you are copying these guys, you arenâe(tm)t learning from them. Itâe(tm)s easier to copy a model than to make something new: doi... Read More

Cognitive Surplus: Creativity and Generosity in a Connected Age

The author of the breakout hit "Here Comes Everybody" reveals how new technology is changing us from consumers to collaborators, unleashing a torrent of creative production that will transform our world. The author of the breakout hit "Here Comes Everybody" reveals how new technology i... Read More

Reviewed by
Categories
Books